Akufo-Addo swears in Oppong Nkrumah, 5 others into Office

Hon. Kojo Oppong Nkrumah

President Nana Akufo-Addo has charged newly appointed Ministers and Deputy Ministers to work speedily and fit into his nearly two-year old administration as quickly as possible.

The Minister for Information and five others, were sworn into office as substantive Ministers and Deputy Ministers alike at a brief ceremony at the Jubilee House by President Akufo Addo.

Addressing the ceremony to swear in four Ministers and two Deputy Ministers after administering three oaths; the Oath of Allegiance, Oath of Office and the Oath of Secrecy, President Akufo Addo said even though they are joining the administration halfway through its mandate, they have all it takes to work quickly and fit into the government and their respective roles. The President expressed his confidence in all the appointees indicating that he knows they will deliver on their mandate.

The President said “you are joining us halfway through our mandate, at the end of December we would have been exactly two years in office. You are coming in halfway even though some of you were already members of my administration in lower capacities. You are coming in halfway and that imposes certain responsibilities on you. The first is to fit in, join those who are already there and cooperate with them so that we can deliver”.

Minister for Information, Kojo Oppong Nkrumah, in his brief response to the President’s admonishing, on behalf of his colleagues said that as the President does not rest in his quest to change Ghana, so will they also not rest to ensure that they deliver on their mandate as Ministers and Deputy Ministers.

Parliament on November 1, 2018, approved the nomination of Kojo Oppong Nkrumah as the Information Minister; Brong Ahafo Regional Minister, Evans Opoku Bobie; Gender Minister Cynthia Morrison; Upper East Regional Minister, Paulina Abayage, and two Deputy Ministers, for Eastern Region, Samuel Nuetey Ayertey and for the Brong Ahafo Region, Martin Oti Gyarko.

Their approval follows a successful vetting by Parliament’s Appointment Committee last week and its recommendation for all the nominees to be approved.

Source: Ghana/myxyzonline.com