Moses Eshun, Benedicta Yaro Win Tarkwa President’s Cup

Moses Eshun and Benedicta Yaro Batomma have won in both men and ladies category of the 2018 Tarkwa president’s cup golf competition, held last Sunday at Tarkwa golf course.
Eshun and Batomma recorded a magnificent stable ford points of 44 and 41 respectively to be crowned champions in men and female divisions.

A tournament which was participated by twenty nine (29) golfers, saw only four (4) lady players namely Benedicta Yaro Batomma main winner; Ruben Sanoah who won longest drive prize; Francisca Ackah the closer to the pin winner and Vida Boakye all from Tarkwa Golf Club.

The twenty five (25) men also did not see only Moses Eshun as overall winner of the tournament but other interesting prizes like Longest Drive and Closer to pin which went to Yaw Anarf and Mvula Vincent respectively.

In an interview with Power fm 97.9 FM’s Nana P:rempeh, the President of Tarkwa Golf Club who doubles as head of Project and Engineering for GoldFields Ghana, Mr Hans De Beer, noted that the competition is very important to him because it is exciting to give back to Tarkwa golfers who have always been supporting him and the club.

“Golf score card is simple and must be marked hole by hole not even a round of golf, so golfers should be more discipline because golf is an integrity sport so golfers must always remember,” he advised.

He added that there are plans to grow the membership of the club, adding “taking into account ladies and youth golfers since the future of golf is the youth we see around us today so these are going to be a part of our discussion during the Annual General Meeting (AGM) slated for January 27, 2019.”

“We will support them to play so they should just make themselves available because they are part of the reason Kojo Barnni is here at the club as teaching pro,” he added.
He went on to wish golfers, staff of Tarkwa Golf Club and Goldfields Ghana well as they head home for the Christmas holidays.

His appreciation also went to his boss, Mr Alfred Baku, who is the Executive Vice President and Head of West Africa for Goldfields.


Story by: Nana Prempeh/Power Sports