E-Levy: Arrest leaders of Majority for contempt of court – Fin. Analyst

A financial analyst, Michael Yarboi Annan has called for the prosecution of the leaders of the Majority in Parliament for going contrary to a ruling of the Supreme Court recently.

His comment comes after the Majority side approved the controversial Electronic Transactions Levy (E-Levy) last Tuesday.

Speaking in an interview with Prince Minkah on Dwaboase on TV XYZ, Mr Annan stated in Akan that the “Majority members should be arrested and jailed for flouting the Supreme Court’s ruling.”

The Apex Court recently ruled the famous Justice Abdullai vs the Attorney General case that Parliament could only converge for business if members present are 138.

Currently,the NPP and NDC have 137 MPs each. There is an independent MP who has decided to join the government’s side of the law-making chamber.

On the day E-levy was passed, the Minority MPs staged a walkout leaving the Majority side. It was later realised that the Majority had no right to vote on the Bill because they were not up to 138 members because the MP for Dome-Kwabenya, Sarah Adwoa Safo was absent.

The Minority headed to the Supreme Court after they confirmed their opponents could not form a quorum for decision-making with only 137 members.

“The action of the Majority constitutes a contempt of court and they must be jailed,” Yarboi Annan argued as he criticised the Akufo-Addo government for “forcing”  the E-levy on Ghanaians.

To him, many businesses would bear the brunt of the implementation of the tax policy because capitals for businesses will be taxed.

Meanwhile, Minority Leader and  Tamale South MP, Haruna Iddrisu, who led his side to court, wants the Supreme Court to declare that the said approval as contrary to law.


By Henryson Okrah||Ghana

Back to top button