Minority boycotts approval of four deputy ministerial nominees

The Minority in Parliament on Wednesday boycotted the approval of four deputy ministerial-nominees who were vetted in their absence.

XYZ Parliamentary correspondent, Princess Arita Anim reports the members had gone to partake in the Green Ghana Day at the instruction of the Speaker of Parliament when their colleagues on the Majority side vetted the four nominees.

According to the NDC MPs, the Chairman of the Appointment Committee, Joseph Osei-Owusu demonstrated an act of bad faith when he decided to go ahead to vet the nominees.

The nominees are Martin Adjei Mensah Korsah, Deputy Minister for Local Government, Decentralization, and Lariba Zuewira Abudu, a Deputy Minister-Designate for Gender, Children, and Social Protection.

The two others are Amidu Issahaku Chinnia and Diana Asonaba Dapaah who have been nominated as Deputy Ministers-Designate for Sanitation and Water Resources and Office of the Attorney-General and Justice respectively.

Deputy Minority Leader, James Avedzi Klutse advanced the argument on behalf of the Minority after which they walked out.

However, the House approved the nominees through a voice vote.



Back to top button