Parliament approves Adu Boahen, 11 Deputy Ministers

Parliament has approved President Akufo-Addo’s deputy ministerial nominees.

The approval comes after a report by Parliament’s Appointments Committee suggested that the Minister of State in charge of Finance, Isaac Adu Boahen, and 11 other nominees be recommended.

The list is the first batch to be approved out of 40 nominees comprising of a minister of state and 39 deputy ministerial nominees.

The approved nominees include Benito Owusu Bio who is a deputy minister-designate for Lands and Natural Resources; Collins Augustine Ntim and Osei Bonsu Amoah who are deputy ministerial nominees for Local Governance, Decentralization, and Rural Development.

The rest are; Deputy Minister for Energy, William Owuraku Aidoo, Deputy Minister for Communications and Digitalisation, Ama Pomaa Boateng, Deputy Minister for Railways Development, Kwaku Asante Boateng, Deputy Minister for Foreign Affairs, Kwaku Ampratwum Sarpong, Deputy Minister for Food and Agriculture, Yaw Frimpong Addo, Deputy Minister for Fisheries and Aquaculture, Moses Anim and Deputy Minister for Trade and Industry, Nana Dokua Asiamah Adjei.

Chairman of the appointments committee and first deputy speaker of parliament, Joseph Osei Owusu said the committee approved their nomination after meeting all constitutional provisions among other considerations.

Minority leader, Haruna Idrissu who also supported the motion for the approval of the nominees also charged members of the public to respond to notice of memoranda published by the committee on nominees ahead of their vetting to aid their work in ensuring that only persons fit for their nominated role are approved.


By Princess Arita Anim||Ghana

Back to top button
Translate »