Parliament sets up committee to probe collapsed banks

Parliament has set up a nine (9) member committee to probe the circumstances that led to the collapse of some banks in the country.

The banking sector clean-up took place between 2017 and 2019.

Last week, MP for Bawku Central Mahama Ayariga presented a petition on behalf of Dr Kwabena Duffuor, former Bank of Ghana Governor and Finance Minister who owned uniBank as well as Prince Kofi Amoabeng whose UT Bank was among the banks that were shut down.

The nine – member committee include First Deputy Speaker, Joseph Osei-Owusu as chair; Deputy Majority leader Alexander Afenyo Markin and former Attorney General, Joe Ghartey.

The rest are Patrick Boamah, Samuel Atta Akyea, Deputy Minority leader, Dr James Avedzi Klutse; former Deputy Finance Minister, Cassiel Ato Forson; MP for Bolga Central, Isaac Adongo and MP for Techiman North, Elizabeth Ofosu Agyare.

Earlier the Majority Leader Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu had attempted to block the of the Committee arguing that the issue was before a competent court of jurisdiction, and a probe by Parliament would amount to sidestepping the mandate of the court.

But in his 56-point ruling the Speaker of Parliament, Alban Bagbin, indicated the petition was in the right direction and consequently constituted the committee and tasked it to do a good job.

Critics have described it as a fruitless exercise.

Others also say the establishment of the Committee is long over due, arguing that the State was exposed after a correspondence between the Central Bank and the Presidency which appeared to have discriminated against some banks got leaked.


Source: Ghana|

Back to top button