Tema Central, Mpraeso MPs didn’t support motion to probe Mills’ death – Ahmed Ibrahim

Deputy Minority Chief Whip, Ahmed Ibrahim, has revealed that two out of the four NPP Members of Parliament (MP) who filed a private member’s motion to probe the death of the late President John Evans Atta-Mills have denied supporting the motion with their signatures.

The two, MP for Mpraeso, Davis Ansah Opoku, and Tema Central MP, Nii Noi Nortey, have demanded that their names be expunged from the motion.

Yves Hanson-Nortey is MP for Tema Central

Mr. Ibrahim who is MP for Banda said his interactions with the two MPs suggested that their names were being used without their consent to file the motion.

Davis Opoku Ansah is MP for Mpraeso.

“I have spoken to the tow MPs and they say they were not aware that their names were being used to support the bill.  That is impersonation,” the MP told Power News.

“When I followed up to the Right Honourable Speaker’s office to go and have a look at those who signed or appended their names to the motion, I was surprised the names Davis Ansah Opoku, Nii Noi, Habib Ibrahim and Annoh-Dompreh were there,” he added. “it was only the signature of Frank Annoh-Dompreh that was appended to the motion.”

He disclosed that the three other MPs did not sign which confirmed the statement being made by the MP for Mpraeso and Tema Central that they did not append their signature to any motion.

The two MPs have written to the Majority Leader, Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu to inform him that they do not endorse the motion.

But Ahmed Ibrahim wants the matter thoroughly investigated by the House.



Back to top button