We’re ready to vote against Akufo-Addo’s new ministerial appointees — Minority

The Minority in Parliament have expressed readiness to cast their ballot to reject government’s ministerial nominees.

There was a standoff in Parliament as the Majority called for the suspension of the voting while the Minority insisted the ballot be cast.

Parliamentary proceedings were suspended Friday afternoon after the haggling.

XYZ Parliamentary Correspondent Odeefuo Kwasi Berchie reports that the House is yet to begin proceedings to determine the fate of the ministerial nominees.

The nominees were rejected by the Minority after vetting to send a strong signal to the Akufo-Addo government to reduce its appointees as the country faces economic crisis.

The ministerial nominees are Adansi Asokwa MP, Kobina Tahir Hammond who has been nominated to head the Ministry of Trade and Industry, with Dr Stephen Amoah nominated for Deputy Minister-designate for Trade and Industry.

Member of Parliament for Abetifi, Bryan Acheampong has been nominated for the Ministry of Food and Agriculture.

The Member of Parliament for Karaga, Mohammed Amin Adam, has also been nominated as Minister of State at the Finance Ministry, Herbert Krapah, a Deputy Minister at the Trade Ministry nominated as Deputy Minister for the Energy Ministry.

There is also the Member of Parliament for Akuapem South, Osei Bonsu Amoah, who has been nominated as Minister of State at the Local Government and Rural Development Ministry.

Minority’s Resolve

Speaking at a press conference Friday afternoon, Minority leader Dr Cassiel Ato Forson insisted they had the numbers to reject the nominees.

He said in the midst of an economic downturn, the least president Akufo-Addo should do is to make extra appointments to his already ballooned government.

Meanwhile, sources from the Majority indicate that they lack the required numbers to stop the Minority from rejecting their colleagues.

MP for Dome-Kwabenya, Sarah Adwoa Safo, and Kumawu MP, Philip Basoah are not in the House.

This means the Majority have only 134 MPs as opposed to Minority’s 136 MPs currently.



Back to top button
Translate »
%d bloggers like this: